The magpie in me

Published March 17, 2015 by sunmoonstars134

I’ve been mulling over the idea of starting a blog for a while.

Very early on in my musings, I was sitting on the sofa crocheting, when a magpie landed on the railing of our balcony. He made me smile, as I had recently moved to the city centre, and I was concerned that I wouldn’t get to see as much green and nature as I like to have.

The colours in his feathers were very lovely, and I enjoyed the thought that he would no doubt love a little look in my jewellery box, full of beautiful shiny things as it is! The fact that nothing matches in my flat has been commented upon many a time 😉 So somehow, all of this combined and “crochet magpie” just popped into my head and wouldn’t leave!

He visits fairly frequently, although I haven’t managed to snap a photo yet! But he is most definitely my mascot (even so, he won’t be getting a peek at my jewellery – it may be a myth that they pinch shiny things, but I’m not taking any chances!)

image

I’m settled in for a while now with a blanket I’m working on, so perhaps he’ll stop by for a photo-shoot 🙂

How did you decide on your blog name? I’d love to hear from you!

3 comments on “The magpie in me

  • Great blog name! Mine came about from my name. I once said “my name is Tanya, with a Y” – and Yanya was born. When I was brainstorming for blog names it wasn’t a huge leap to yarnya and it sounded perfect 🙂

    Like

  • My blog name Creative Pixie came about as I wanted the blog to be a record of things I make. I also wanted the name to be memorable and boy it’s hard to get a memorable name that hasn’t already been taken 😉

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

