Support group, anyone?

Published April 13, 2015 by sunmoonstars134

I stumbled across this blog post recently, on the hilarious Laptop on the Ironing Board blog. Here, Kate very bravely shares her yarn problem.

I thought “ooh, doesn’t it look lovely all laid out like that. Maybe I should do the same… It’d be nice to see what I have, and I’ve been stash-busting for a while so it won’t be that bad”

So I did. Oh, readers, why did I do it?? I feel like a terrible human. I don’t know if I should share with you, but we are all friends, right? Ok.

Gulp.

Now, having emptied the suitcase onto the floor (suitcase… How could I have thought that was a sensible amount of yarn!) I was feeling very ashamed, but thought that while I was facing up to my issues, I should open the drawer. This is where projects go “to be finished later”. Now this drawer has been playing on my mind for a while – I’ve had a half-hearted sense that I should go and have a look and maybe finish off the one or two projects loitering in there.

I must say how proud I am of my capacity to delude myself. One or two. Hmmm.

This is bad. Very bad.

My sense of shame was increased by this little face. How judgemental is he looking?!

As I write, I wonder if there might be someone out there thinking, “that’s not so bad, don’t worry, you can work with that.” I like you. We could be friends. But you won’t be quite so tolerant of me when I show you what arrived this morning…

My name is Natalie, and I have a yarn problem.

22 comments on “Support group, anyone?

    • Much appreciated 🙂 🙂 I’ve been doing very well at working through my stash, to the point where I thought this morning “ooh, I’m getting low, I’ll have to keep an eye out for offers”… I can’t find a happy medium!!

      Like

    • Oh, I laugh whenever I see those! This was a WIP started just after I learned to crochet, and I had a (very!) modest stash, which I intended to keep in a bag of a size you can roughly gauge from what I constructed in the photo… I quickly put paid to this idea by ordering a large stash of oddments from ebay that would never fit in a bag anywhere near that size… At which point this project got relegated until such time as I can think of a reason to make a small bag for a certain purpose… :/

      Like

    • Haha, there are worse things to be 🙂

      I am steadfastly refusing to learn to knit or try any other craft as I already have a vast Pinterest board of crochet patterns I want to try at some point… More crafts can only mean more inspiration and I don’t think that’s a good thing!

      Like

  • I have a couple of drawers that look very similar to that! The bad thing about drawers is you can close them and forget about them and go out and buy more yarn and start a new project and then get bored/frustrated and stuff that in the drawer and go and get some more yarn. Oh dear, where’s the support group …

    Liked by 1 person

  • Oh, this is too, too wonderful! I love the reproachful half-made softie. My youngest daughter recently adopted an abandoned softie project (it was truly hideous, with stuffing poking out the too-large stitches and no arms, ears, nose or mouth. “Did you make this for me?” she asked in a wistful little voice. Oh dear.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Hi Natalie, I am not even going to go there!! Do I have a yarn problem, never, just lots of projects yet to make 😉 A large stack box of yarn plus a 40th birthday with lots of money so that was another 2 large bags of yarn, oh and the other bag, and the yarn for that blanket, and two or four other bags. hmm, my understairs cupboard is out of bounds to prying eyes!! Yarn is just so soft and squishy and the colours you can buy, ooh yarn shopping anyone?? Sharon x

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

